By Benjamin Isip / July 21,2022
[Florida HOA estoppel fees changed this year.]
Florida’s legislature passed Senate Bill 398
in 2017, regarding requirements for an estoppel certificate for
condominium associations, co-op associations, and homeowners associations. It provides that the association must provide
specific information regarding the association, as well as specific information
regarding assessments on the estoppel certificate. SB 398 also provides for and
revises fee and supplemental fee requirements.
The estoppel must be
completed within 10 business days, must be effective for 30 days from the date
of delivery, and must be provided in a statutory format to ensure that buyers
and sellers receive the appropriate information. You can read the 12-pages of restrictions and
information to be provided at this
In accordance with that law, the
Department of Business and Professional Regulation has recalculated the fees
for estoppel certificates and published the amounts on its website.
The next update will be
released by July 1, 2027.